Merry Go ‘Round

My heart hurts.

 

Kindnessnoun – the quality of being friendly, generous, and considerate.

Empathy noun – the ability to understand and share the feelings of another.

Compassion noun – sympathetic pity and concern for the sufferings or misfortunes of others

 

The last eight years we have heard people make incredibly disrespectful racial slurs, directed towards President Obama. We have listened to bitching and complaining about things that may or may not have been correct or even relevant. I know many people on a personal level who have said “If Obama wins/ wins again I’m moving out of the country.” (These same people making fun of people who said the same thing about Trump) I’ve heard that they couldn’t be more disappointed in their home state (In my case, Ohio). I’ve heard his family attacked, I’ve seen trackers, counting down the days until he was no longer in office. However now that the candidate they voted for is in office, anyone who doesn’t agree with them is a radical, pathetic liberal that is looking for a handout, and they need to get over it and stop bitching because it’s not going to change anything.  I don’t understand this mindset. Call it growing up, call it open mindedness, but I really can’t comprehend the blatant disrespect and generalizations for people who don’t see things as you do. I really don’t. Have I always supported Obama? Absolutely not, I’ll be honest, I’ve bitched about him. I haven’t agreed with everything that he has done in the last 8 years. However, who I am, what I believe and where I am in life now, are drastically different than eight years ago (age 19), and even four years ago (age 23). Did I like Hillary? Nope. Do I like Trump? No. Does that mean I am going to sacrifice my integrity and make someone who does feel like shit? That’s a no Scott. I have the right to not like Donald Trump, for whatever reasons I have found. Yes, he is my president, but it is my constitutional right to freedom of speech, to voice my opinions if I wish to do so (which I typically don’t) regardless if they are supportive of him or not. So if you could do me a favor and stop being an asshole about the fact people are unhappy, considering you have probably bitched for the last 8 years, that would be great, and vice versa. Quit treating every conservative person as if they just elected the damn Anti-Christ. We cannot control others beliefs, have yours and fight like hell for them.

I strongly believe in equality, in every sense of the word. I believe that you should be allowed to marry regardless of sexual orientation. I believe in treating people of other races or religions with dignity and respect. Embracing and celebrating diversity. I believe in women having the right to make decisions regarding their lives and their bodies. I believe in fair and equal wages. I believe that the United States of America is a giant melting pot and that we are all immigrants to this country, and that by telling people they can’t come here because what they believe or where they are from is wrong. I think that gun control is pointless and I’m a huge supporter of citizens right to carry. I support our law enforcement and our military. Fiscally we need an overhaul, we need to figure out a way to get out of the trillions of dollars in debt this country has racked up. There are so many issues, some I am well informed on and plenty I should probably research more.  I am truly interested when I speak to people about why they support certain candidates. I may debate a little bit, but it is never with malice or the intention of making the other party feel inferior. I enjoy learning why people feel the way they feel, and trying to understand what attracts them to a certain party, candidate, or whatever. I like knowing what makes you tick.

All I’m asking is for some kindness, compassion and empathy on both sides. Supporting or not supporting someone doesn’t make you a bad person. I didn’t vote for Donald Trump. I don’t like him, I don’t have faith in him, and I certainly don’t respect the man.  However, I hope and pray that he is able to do something positive for our country, without stripping rights of people. He says he isn’t racist. He says, despite everything we’ve been shown, he isn’t sexist. He says he wants to “Make America Great Again”. I’m not sure if his idea of a “Great America” is the same as mine, but I will do my best to remain opened minded, and when beliefs don’t align, fight for what I believe is right.

My only political post. Promise.

I wish you enough

-Laur

Leave a Reply

